Forums

Home Forums General Configuration Port Stealth

Port Stealth

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    plook
    Participant

Hi, I’m an IT professional, so this is not my first router configuration rodeo. So far I am pleased with the pcWRT and the parental controls it offers above the open-source openWRT.

I have Time Warner internet service with my pcWRT router connected directly to a modem port getting the full 35+/5+ Mbps speed I’m paying for. This is much better than some other routers I’ve used. However, whenever I configure a router, I use the free web utility from GRC called “Shields Up” to scan all internet-visible ports to ensure there are no “holes”. (I’ll not post the link here as it is easy to find by Googling “shields up”.) The website scans all TCP/IP ports of your IP and, preferably, no port will reply (“open” or “closed”) but rather give no answer at all (“stealth”). This is ideal because the hacker/attacker can’t be sure anything’s there.

Unlike the other routers I’ve used, the pcWRT replies “closed” for nearly every port, with a handful of ports reporting “stealth” (no reply). While there are no open ports, having unused ports that actually reply “closed” are the next worst thing. Some routers have a checkbox for turning off ports like IDENTD, but I don’t see where pcWRT has any option for controlling the desired default behavior of ports. There are 7 ports already “stealth” (eg. ports 444 and 593) so it would appear that allowing the remaining ports to simply not respond to the request is possible.

Is it possible to default ports to stealth in a future firmware release? Thanks.

———————————————————————-

GRC Port Authority Report created on UTC: 2016-04-14 at 14:38:50

Results from scan of ports: 0-1055

0 Ports Open
    1049 Ports Closed
    7 Ports Stealth
    ———————
    1056 Ports Tested

NO PORTS were found to be OPEN.

Ports found to be STEALTH were: 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 445,