Forums

Home Forums Announcements pcWRT firmware v1.28.1 Release Notes

pcWRT firmware v1.28.1 Release Notes

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  support 4 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #2802

    support
    Participant

    Changes included in this update (v1.28.1):

    • Add OpenVPN server and client. The OpenVPN server allows you to establish a secure VPN connection back to your home network from the Internet. The OpenVPN client allows you to tunnel traffic from your home network to a remote OpenVPN service. If you created multiple VLANs or WiFi networks on the router, you can select which network(s) to tunnel through the VPN service. DNS leak prevention and VPN kill switch is built-in and requires no additional configuration.
    • Increase the maximum number of WiFi networks from 2 (i.e., LAN and guest) to 4.
    • Add Cloudflare DNS, Quad9 and CleanBrowsing Family to the list of DNS service options.
    • Add option to override router Reset button. You can override router reset button under the Notifications section on the System Settings page. You need to check both options “Allow router password reset on login page” and “Override router Reset button”. If someone presses the Reset button on the router when those options are enabled, the router will not reset. It will simply send an email notification to your configured email address. In case you need to recover the router password, you can click the “Forgot Password” link on the Login page to have the router reset the password and send to your email.
    • Fix a bug in Access Control that blocked multiplayer games
    • Fix a bug in remote management that delayed router rebooting

    Upgrade steps:

    1. Have your configuration backup ready. Create a backup of your current configuration file, if you don’t have one.
    2. Click the “Check for Updates” button in the System Settings page. Follow the instructions to upgrade.
    3. After successful upgrade, create a new router settings backup file from the System Settings page and save it in a safe place.

    Important Note for TORONTO-N: If you are upgrading from a version earlier than v1.26, your current configuration might be wiped out during this upgrade because of the WiFi driver upgrade. If you use the “Restore Backup” button in the System Settings page to restore from an earlier backup, please restore only Access Control settings. You need to manually enter other settings after restoring Access Control.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.